Prince & The New Power Generation’s Diamonds and Pearls Gets Reissue: Listen to an Unvaulted Song

Prince & The New Power Generation’s 1991 album, Diamonds and Pearls, is getting a new expanded reissue with 47 unreleased songs from the vault. The late artist’s estate has shared previously unreleased track “Alice Through the Looking Glass” to go with the announcement—check that out below. The reissue comes with a 120-page book of photos and essays with a Chuck D foreword, a Dolby Atmos mix of the album on Blu-ray, and two hours of concert footage (both audio and video) shot at Prince’s Minneapolis club, Glam Slam, in 1992. It’s out as a 7xCD or 12xLP set on October 27.

You can also hear “Insatiable (Early Mix – Full Version),” featuring lyrics and instrumentation that Prince had decided to cut, below. In addition to the unvaulted tracks, the reissue includes remixes and B-sides from the era. The estate has also released a limited 7″ singles box.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


Prince & The New Power Generation: Diamonds and Pearls (Super Deluxe Edition)

Diamonds and Pearls (Super Deluxe Edition):

01 Thunder (2023 Remaster)
02 Daddy Pop (2023 Remaster)
03 Diamonds and Pearls (2023 Remaster)
04 Cream (2023 Remaster)
05 Strollin’ (2023 Remaster)
06 Willing and Able (2023 Remaster)
07 Gett Off (2023 Remaster)
08 Walk Don’t Walk (2023 Remaster)
09 Jughead (2023 Remaster)
10 Money Don’t Matter 2 Night (2023 Remaster)
11 Push (2023 Remaster)
12 Insatiable (2023 Remaster)
13 Live 4 Love (2023 Remaster)

01 Gett Off (Damn Near 10 Minutes)
02 Gett Off (Houstyle)
03 Violet the Organ Grinder
04 Gangster Glam
05 Horny Pony
06 Cream (NPG Mix)
07 Things Have Gotta Change (Tony M Rap)
08 Do Your Dance (KC’s Remix)
09 Insatiable (Edit)
10 Diamonds and Pearls (Edit)
11 Money Don’t Matter 2 Night (Edit)
12 Call the Law
13 Willing and Able (Edit)
14 Willing and Able (Video Version)
15 Thunder (DJ Fade)

01 Schoolyard
02 My Tender Heart
03 Pain
04 Streetwalker
05 Lauriann
06 Darkside
07 Insatiable (Early Mix – Full Version)
08 Glam Slam ’91
09 Live 4 Love (Early Version)
10 Cream (Take 2)
11 Skip to My You My Darling
12 Diamonds and Pearls (Long Version)

01 Daddy Pop (12″ Mix)
02 Martika’s Kitchen
03 Spirit
04 Open Book
05 Work That Fat
06 Horny Pony (Version 2)
07 Something Funky (This House Comes) (Band Version)
08 Hold Me
09 Blood on the Sheets
10 The Last Dance (Bang Pow Zoom and the Whole Nine)
11 Don’t Say U Love Me

01 Get Blue
02 Tip o’ My Tongue
03 The Voice
04 Trouble
05 Alice Through the Looking Glass
06 Standing at the Altar
07 Hey U
08 Letter 4 Miles
09 I Pledge Allegiance to Your Love
10 Thunder Ballet