Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series Casts Grover and Annabeth

The upcoming Disney+ original series Percy Jackson and the Olympians has found its fellow heroes, as Aryan Simhadri (Disney’s Spin) and Leah Sava Jeffries (Empire) have been cast in the series.

RELATED: Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series Has Found Its Titular Demigod

Simhadri and Jeffries will play Percy’s friends Grover and Annabeth, respectively, and will star alongside the recently cast Walker Scobell, who will play the titular character of Percy Jackson. With the friend group rounded out, a large portion fo the main cast has been set, giving fans a good idea of who to expect before filming on the series begins next month.

Simhadri’s Grover Underwood is a satyr (a half boy and half goat), who is disguised as a 12-year-old boy. Written as a very caring individual, Grover is best friends with Percy, whom he is always ready to protect or fight side-by-side with. Jeffries’ Annabeth Chase is the daughter of Athena, and a brilliant strategest who comes to the human world to test her own mind. After meeting Percy, Annabeth begins to train him to survive the challenges of the mythological world, while he helps her connect to her humanity.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series will be directed by James Bobin from a screenplay co-written by Riordan and Jon Steinberg (The Old Man), based on Riordan’s first installment of his hit Camp Half-Blood Chronicles book series.

“The live-action series tells the fantastical story of the titular 12-year-old modern demigod, Percy Jackson, who’s just coming to terms with his newfound supernatural powers when the sky god Zeus accuses him of stealing his master lightning bolt. Now Percy must trek across America to find it and restore order to Olympus,” reads the synopsis.

RELATED: Disney+’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians Filming Start Date Revealed

Executive producers are Riordan, Bobin, Steinberg, Dan Shotz, Rebecca Riordan, Bert Salke, Monica Owusu-Breen, Jim Rowe, and Gotham Group’s Ellen Goldsmith-Vein, Jeremy Bell, and D.J. Goldberg. 20th Television is set as the studio.

The Percy Jackson novel franchise began in 2005 with The Lightning Thief, which proved to be a smash hit and spawned four sequels, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian, with five supplement books and graphic novel versions of each being released shortly after.