Korn’s James “Munky” Shaffer Unveils New Electronic Duo Venera

Korn guitarist James “Munky” Shaffer has joined forces with composer/filmmaker Chris Hunt to form a new electronic outfit named Venera. The duo has announced its self-titled debut album, along with releasing the single “Hologram” featuring Rizz from the band VOWWS.

Venera’s debut LP will arrive on October 13th via Ipecac Recordings. “Hologram” actually follows lead single “Swarm,” which was quietly and mysteriously released last month.

As for the new tune, Shaffer and Hunt state, “’Hologram’ emerged quickly from our first session together. A nearly unchanging drum machine pattern nested in warbling guitars. We don’t interact much with holograms but they seem to offer an image of an alluring emptiness and light, which resonates well with the universe we are driven to explore.”

In addition to VOWWS’ Rizz, the album features guest drumming from Deantoni Parks (Mars Volta, John Cale), and vocal contributions from Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age, Eleven) and HEALTH’s Jacob Duzsik.

Pre-order Venera’s debut LP here, and check out the videos for “Hologram” and “Swarm” (both created by EFFIXX) below.

Venera Artwork:

Venera album

Venera Tracklist:
01. Alignment
02. Erosion (ft. Deantoni Parks)
03. Ochre (ft. HEALTH’s Jacob Duzsik)
04. Swarm
05. Disintegration (ft. Deantoni Parks)
06. Hologram (ft. VOWWS’ Rizz)
07. Surrender
08. Triangle (ft. Alain Johannes)
09. Helium