Drop Nineteens Detail First New Album in 30 Years, Share Video for New Song: Watch

Boston shoegaze band Drop Nineteens are returning from a 30-year hiatus with video for a new song called “Scapa Flow.” It’s the lead single from their forthcoming album Hard Light, due out November 3 via Wharf Cat. The LP was recorded by Greg Ackell, Steve Zimmerman, Paula Kelley, Motohiro Yasue, and Peter Koeplin—the original lineup from their 1992 debut Delaware. They also announced a short run of fall tour dates with support from Horse Jumper of Love, Greg Mendez and Winter. Check out “Scapa Flow,” the fill track list, and the full run of tour dates below.

Ackles first announced Hard Light in a tweet last year, explaining that he had written the bulk of it in Drop C# tuning and that Zimmerman had contributed several songs. He had been encouraged to reunite the band by their friend, Cleveland musician Craig Rich. Hard Light will be the band’s third LP, and the first since 1993’s National Coma

Check out where Delaware landed on Pitchfork’s “50 Best Shoegaze Albums of All Time” list.

Hard Light:

01 Hard Light
02 Scapa Flow
03 Gal
04 Tarantula
05 The Price Was High
06 Rose With Smoke
07 A Hitch
08 Lookout
09 Another One Another
10 Policeman Getting Lost
11 T

The album artwork for Drop Nineteens’ Hard Light.

Drop Nineteens:

10-10 Washington, DC – The Atlantis * 
10-11 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer  %
10-12 Boston, MA – The Paradise *
10-13 Brooklyn, NY – Warsaw  *
10-19 Los Angeles, CA – The Belasco ^
10-22 Oakland, CA – The New Parish ^

* with Greg Mendez
% with Horse Jumper of Love
^ with Winter